top of page

An intro to Finca life

Our missionary group has now been at the Finca for over four weeks! We have completed two weeks of orientation, which consisted of many formation sessions regarding history Honduras, history of the Finca, trauma-informed care, potential job opportunities, how to live in community, and how to love our kids well.

Our new missionary class - Eric, Nicole, Ally, me, Olivia Anna with the two girls Kiara and Adelina!

Now you may be asking, “What has Dayelle been doing in Honduras now that she is actually there? What is Finca del Niño like?” So, I am going to give a brief overview.

All weekdays have a similar layout. We wake up early in the morning to attend a spiritual event in the chapel – prayer or communion. People go to their job sites during the day on the campus of the Finca and return to eat lunch as a missionary community or go to one of the kids’ houses. The afternoon is usually filled with a small job and house chores. Before dinner there is either a spiritual event or community activity. Toward the end of the day we cook dinner in our missionary house and spend time with one another.

On the weekends we have more free time to spend with the children, relax, and attend church in town. There are also opportunities to read books, participate in community activities, swim at the beach, play various games, bake, and cherish time with another. I am grateful for these days of rest.

The past few weeks here have been slightly overwhelming but also incredibly exciting. I am thrilled to announce that I have recently received my jobs for this next year at the Finca! These roles will be the structured ways in which I will be serving the kids and community here. So, without further ado…

My face prior to our job reveal!

1. Enfermera (Nurse) – Surprise, surprise! I will be working as one of the nurses here! I will be joining a nurse named Ruthie (also from Minnesota), who has already had one year of experience here. It was drilled into our minds in nursing school, but I am constantly reminded how important it is that we, as nurses, are advocates for the children here, and it is our responsibility to protect them. The nurses’ primary role is to care for the immediate physical needs of the children at the Finca. After those needs are met, we care for the staff and missionaries. Then our scope is a bit broader. We have clinic days Mondays and Wednesdays with Dr. Julio, our knowledgeable and generous doctor. The clinic is open to all people listed above, Finca school children, teachers, and our neighbors in the surrounding pueblos. As a nurse, there are also opportunities to accompany kids to various appointments in town and to be a part of the equipo clínico with the social worker, psychologist, and the director to review all wellbeing aspects of each Finca child every Tuesday morning. We are hoping to expand the nursing role and the care that we provide. It is all very exciting!

The front desk of our Sacred Heart Clinic.

The front desk at The Sacred Heart Clinic.

The examination room where patients see the doctor.

Dr. Julio's examination room.

2. Maestra de inglés, 2° grado (English teacher, 2nd grade) – At the Finca there are two schools – primaria or elementary school, and colegio or middle school. I will be teaching in one of the primaria classrooms for a 45-minute English lesson four days per week. I am going to be relying on my fellow missionaries, as they have much more teaching experience than I do. It will be a learning experience for myself and hopefully my students as well!

3. PAVI ayudante (PAVI helper) – So, what is PAVI? It is an after-school program that supports teenagers in the development of skills needed to live independently after their time at the Finca. It provides various workshops to learn sewing, embroidery, painting, maintenance work, interview skills, resume building, and much more. Another new missionary named Liv will be the coordinator, and I am simply available to help where it is needed and be a resource for support. I am still learning more about this program and am excited to be helping a group that aims to practically develop children into skillful and resourceful adults.

4. Coordinadora de tiempo familiar (Family time coordinator) – At the Finca, there are kiddos who have one or two siblings living here as well. We strive to fortalecer healthy sibling relationships, and it is essential for the children to spend time getting to know their brothers and sisters. Therefore, I will be creating a monthly schedule to coordinate intentional sibling time among their families. A missionary from the community will sign up for a group of siblings each month and facilitate the event. Events may include going to the beach, baking, playing games, arts and crafts, or fútbol.

5. Tutor (Tutor) – Last but not least, I will be serving as a tutor for one student two times per week. I will not begin tutoring until February, as that is when the school year begins in Honduras. I am looking forward to working one on one with a kiddo and being a cheerleader in his or her education.

Although I am excited to be getting into the swing of life here, I have been feeling a bit overwhelmed with all of the newness of the Finca, jobs, budding friendships with the kids, and community chores. However, life here is good. My time is spent more intentionally in each moment. My prayers are becoming more specific and frequent. I have encountered challenging days as well as days filled with nothing but joy from the Lord.

There have been many changes in the past few months, but there are also many aspects of my life that are the same. I am still learning to love without boundaries. I am still learning to speak Truth in difficult situations. I am still learning to be okay not being able to communicate in Spanish well. I am still learning what it means to be a daughter of God and sister of Christ. I am still learning to be patient. I am still learning to trust in God for strength and wisdom in each and every moment throughout the day.

Circumstances change. We change. But I am eternally grateful to know a God whose love and promises for us will never change.

 

‘Tis Jesus, the first and the last,

Whose Spirit shall guide us safe home;

We’ll praise Him for all that is past,

And trust Him for all that’s to come.

-Joseph Hart

 

Thank you all for bearing with me on this journey thus far! Please feel free to email me at dlduerwachter@gmail.com with any questions, comments, or prayer requests.

Our full missionary group including oldies, middies, and newbies :)

bottom of page