top of page

A new chapter

To some people moving to Honduras may seem irrational, or maybe even crazy. To others it may appear brave. However, serving as a nurse in a Spanish speaking country has been my dream for years. So, for me the decision was neither irrational nor brave; it was simple. My heart has always felt drawn to love and care for populations that are underprivileged, poor, and oppressed. It has been a feeling that continues to grow over time, especially after experiences in Ecuador, the Dominican Republic, and Guatemala. I strive to live a life of simplicity, promote human dignity, and humbly serve those who are less fortunate than I, a person of great privilege.

Following graduation from nursing school at St. Kate's this May, I will be serving at a site called Farm of the Child, which provides housing, healthcare, and education for orphan and vulnerable children in Honduras. The organization values spirituality, simplicity, community, and service. This August I will be traveling to Antigua, Guatemala for six to eight weeks of language school while building a community with the other missionaries who will also be serving at the Finca (Farm). In October I will depart from Antigua and settle into my new home: Trujillo, Honduras, a small coastal community. This town is where I will be located for the following year to two years. 

As a nurse at the Farm, I will have many responsibilities. I am even still discovering them! I will be working in the clinic with a Honduran doctor two days a week. The children at the Farm as well as families and individuals from the surrounding villages can come to the clinic to receive free healthcare. I will also have opportunities to venture outside of the Farm to do home visits, follow-up care, and education to families in the community. Lastly, I may have the opportunity to teach health classes at the Farm's school. In the afternoons, I will take on a small job such as being a soccer coach (yikes), teaching sewing lessons (double yikes), or coaching swimming lessons (triple yikes) to name a few. I am excited to spend time with the kiddos during this time, hear their stories, and build genuine, loving relationships with them.

Outside of work, I will attend daily prayer and Mass on Sundays. At the Farm, there are three Franciscan sisters who direct operations at the site and ensure the mission of the organization is alive and true. I am so looking forward to hearing their wisdom and stories. There will also be time for group retreats, exploring the beautiful country, and yes, visitors! 

Although I am still learning about daily life on the Farm, I am becoming more and more eager to arrive. I am passionate about community health nursing and serving others. I am looking forward to deepening my faith, being immersed in the culture, and loving on the kiddos at the Farm.

So, that's a little bit about what I know now and what is to come! I am going to try to post on my blog monthly, so we will see how that goes. If you would like to stay updated, at the bottom of the main blog page, there is a "subscribe" section where you can plug in your email. Please do so! Also, I would encourage you to visit my missionary website page here and consider financially supporting me on my journey. We are required to raise over $10,000 for travel expenses, medical insurance, supplies, and language school. All donations are gratefully accepted! I am looking forward to this new adventure and hope you will prayerfully join me on this journey. 

Con amor y cariño,

(With love and care)

xo, Dayelle

bottom of page